The present Governor General is styled His Excellency General The Right Honourable Georges P. Vanier, D.S.O., M.C., C.D.

## 2.—Governors General of Canada since Confederation, 1867

Name The Viscount Monck of Ballytrammon.	Date of Appointment			Date of Assumption of Office		
	June	1.	1867	July	1.	1867
THE BARON LISGAR OF LISGAR AND BAILIEBOROUGH	Dec.	0000	0.0000000000	Feb.		1869
THE EARL OF DUFFERIN	May	22.	1872	June		1872
The Marquis of Lorne	Oct.	5,	1878	Nov.	25,	1878
THE MARQUIS OF LANSDOWNE	Aug.	18,	1883	Oct.	23,	1883
THE BARON STANLEY OF PRESTON	May	1,	1888	June	11,	1888
THE EARL OF ABERDEEN	May	22,	1893	Sept.	18,	1893
THE EARL OF MINTO	July	30,	1898	Nov.	12,	1898
THE EARL GREY	Sept.	26,	1904	Dec.	10,	1904
FIELD MARSHAL H. R. H. THE DUKE OF CONNAUGHT	Mar.	21,	1911	Oct.	13,	1911
THE DUKE OF DEVONSHIRE	Aug.	19,	1916	Nov.	11,	1916
GENERAL THE BARON BYNG OF VIMY	Aug.	2,	1921	Aug.	11,	1921
THE VISCOUNT WILLINGTON OF RATTON	Aug.	5,	1926	Oct.	2,	1926
THE EARL OF BESSBOROUGH	Feb.	9,	1931	Apr.	4,	1931
THE BARON TWEEDSMUIR OF ELSFIELD.	Aug.	10,	1935	Nov.	2,	1935
Major General The Earl of Athlone	Apr.	3,	1940	June	21,	1940
FIELD MARSHAL THE VISCOUNT ALEXANDER OF TUNIS	Mar.	21,	1946	Apr.	12,	1946
THE RIGHT HONOURABLE VINCENT MASSEY	Jan.	24,	1952	Feb.	28,	1952
GENERAL THE RIGHT HONOURABLE GEORGES P. VANIER	Aug.	1,	1959	Sept.	15,	1959

The Cabinet.—The Cabinet is a committee of Ministers chosen by the Prime Minister (the leader of the political party forming the Government of the Day) generally from Members of Parliament. By convention, all members of the Cabinet either have seats in Parliament or secure seats within a short time and, again by convention, all Ministers in charge of departments of government are generally Members of the House of Commons although there is nothing in the Constitution to prevent a Minister with Portfolio being a Senator.\* However, they generally prefer to have seats in the House of Commons where all crucial legislation, by convention, is introduced and where they can offer explanations necessary to secure passage of their Estimates or legislation with which they are deeply concerned. Ministers without Portfolio (without a department to administer) can be members of either the House of Commons or the Senate. Frequently the Cabinet contains one Minister without Portfolio—usually the Leader of the Government in the Senate—and perhaps one or two others chosen for a variety of reasons such as the desirability of including certain provincial or sectional representation that might otherwise be lacking in the Ministry.

Cabinet members are selected by the Prime Minister in such manner as to ensure, as far as possible, representation of the several geographical and political regions of the country and its principal ethnic, religious and social interests. Each Cabinet Minister generally assumes charge of one of the departments of government, although a Minister may hold more than one portfolio at the same time or he may hold one or more portfolios and one or more acting portfolios, or a Minister without Portfolio may hold one or more acting portfolios. In his acting capacity, the Minister exercises the same authority as if he were the Minister of the department.

<sup>\*</sup> Senator the Hon. Gideon Decker Robertson held the portfolio of Minister of Labour for the periods Nov. 7, 1918 to Dec. 29, 1921 and Aug. 7, 1930 to Feb. 2, 1932; Senator the Hon. Malcolm Wallace McCutcheon served as Minister of Trade and Commerce from Feb. 12 to Apr. 22, 1963.